Where’s Wally?

You all know that guy with the stripy T-shirt. Wally (or Waldo, for those who like to wave a stripy flag) is not that difficult to find; even children can do it!

But in the world of stripy nanoparticles, nobody can find Wally. I have only seen red herrings. Even my loquacious mate Philip Moriarty, a microscopist who is renowned, well-respected and reputable in Nottingham, can’t find stripes either. But hey, we are good boys, and even boys from the best families can sometimes miss stuff. So we requested demanded  urged coerced (what the heck; even good boys have limited patience!) that guy at EPFL to give us more images of fabricated stripy nanoparticles for us to look at.

And he did. Yaaaaaay! No one stands up to Rapha Z!

But the guy is a little bit cheeky: he did not release images of non-stripy nanoparticles. Can’t believe it. Someone please tell him that he doesn’t have to fabricate those! Just image any random nanoparticle, it won’t come up with stripes! Oh, boy, hate it when people make me say the obvious.

Alright, so I have now looked at the raw data behind the latest Nature Materials nanoparticle scam. Those scumbags running the journal love the stripes; they even put them on the cover! (It’s not even cute; the hairy balls have given me nightmares.)

Anyway, these are the images with Wally-wanna-be particles published by the glamour journal:

And this is the image corresponding to the raw data released by the guy at EPFL:
Come on, look for Wally now.
.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

No? Oh man…
I knew you need my help. OK, I’ll be a good boy and change the contrast for you:
2-redish LUTcontrast adjusted
Can you find them now?
.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Nope? Man, it took me less than 1 second! Alright, sure, I am a seasoned physicist, nanotechnologist, microscopist, nanoparticulist, stripe-hunter, fake-science spotter, and more!

So here you have the fake Wallies.

What? You don’t believe me? F**k, man! OK, ok, bigger is better:

I can also remove noise! (Yeah, can’t hide my inner geek.)

So here the Wally-wanna-be particles. Any microscopist who is as wise as myself (or at least as my mate Moriarty) will see with closed eyes that the stripes are totally fake.

Got an STM tip? I can tell you, I make stripes with them! So can this guy at EPFL.

But hey, how did the guy make that glamorous image for Nature Materials?  I can’t get it right from the raw data! See, I told you guys it was a fake.

3 thoughts on “Where’s Wally?

  1. Pingback: Browsing the archive | Rapha-z-lab

  2. Pingback: When rigour deserts science we are left with quackery | Ferniglab's Blog

  3. Pingback: When rigour deserts science we are left with quackery | Fake Rapha-z-lab

Leave a Reply

